confessions

I have a confession. I’m not proud of it, but I have to tell you…

I didn’t do the workout on Monday.

There, I said it, it’s out there, for all to  read. Now I feel I can look you in the eye again – try looking someone in both eyes, how did that work out for you? I can never do it, just flick between both, trying not to look odd – I can give you the excuse, I was working non-stop till 8:30pm. By the time I had nibbled through my chains and crawled home, I ate and slept.

So, there it is. In fact I didn’t workout yesterday either and I will be surprised if I get the time today! work really is that busy.

Ah. the ebb and flow of life. Unexpected events/work/family-things/illness come up all the time. They always will. For those starting out with an exercise programme or trying to eat good old-fashioned wholesome food, these events can seem to conspire to throw you off course.

Your Mum or Dad’s Birthday dinner, there will be cake. That last-minute paper to be written and submitted, no time to workout. That summer holiday, lazing in the sun, eating out every night…

These things will come up. So, what can we do about it? I think most importantly don’t stress out about it, that never helps anything. Just take a little step back, examine what you are doing, and be honest with yourself (and in my case anyone who is reading) then decide what you can do about it.

If you are working 12 hours a day, you probably won’t have time to hit the gym (gyms are boring anyway). So make sure you eat well, your body (thank you, love body, x)  and brain (thank you, love brain, oxo) will thank you for good healthy food (the vending machine is not your friend!). If you do have a dinner to attend, be mindful of what you eat, and stick to whatever exercise plan you had (two pieces of cake is not cool, unless it is chocolate… I have issues). If you are on holiday, try to find opportunities for your workouts, or sports, and when eating out see if there is any fresh local foods you can try (this depends largely where you are, but you get my drift).

Most of all remember, your diet and exercise are part of your life, as are the other parts.

Find your balance.

6 thoughts on “confessions

Leave a Reply

