fear, a new friend?

I love to climb. Indoors, outside, it’s all good. Outside is better… Outside with the sun on your back is better still… Outside with the sun on your back and the sound of the sea in your ears is just heaven on Earth. I love to climb.

Progressing on the climbing journey means that eventually fear has to be faced. For some this can be straight forward, for others, it can be a long and frustrating process. It is for me. Since freeing myself of the top rope and trying to lead as much as possible, fear has become a companion of mine. I would not like to be rid of it, I would just like its presence to be a little more useful.

It is right, as a climber, to have some fear. Used properly, fear can help you to avoid accidents, learn to fall cleanly, to know when to pack up and go home, rather than stay out in terrible conditions. It is the irrational fear that can prevent climbing to the limit, and this is what I am working on right now.

So, I will take some small falls. Nothing fancy. Find a nice little over hang with the clip round knee height and drop off. I have done it before. No biggie. I trust the kit. I will do it again, prove that it is still no biggie. Then I will move on to something bigger, try a harder route, push it out a little further.

It will take time. It will need work. Consistent, hard, work.

We can be friends.

Leave a Reply

