the only way is… workout

So, yesterday I tried a little endurance climbing at the local wall . Now this is a small wall, say, 9-10m high, so doing any endurance training on it was going to mean a large number of climbs. I settled on 20. Since this type of training is new to me, I picked an easy route on a flat, and off I went.

Result, a puffed out, sweaty me. Although, I didn’t fall off or pump out. In my books, that means it wasn’t hard enough! Next time (tomorrow) I shall pick a route one grade up and try again!

The only way is up! la la la…

Today I am hitting the HIIT! 18 minutes total, 10 seconds rest, 50 seconds work. Completing 3 rounds of the following 6 exercises:

  • medicine ball jump lunges
  • diving monkeys (used in Parkour for conditioning)
  • medicine ball half burpee with 180 degree jump
  • squat with side leg lift
  • sandbag single leg dead lift (L)
  • sandbag single leg dead lift (R)

Cool down with 8 minutes skipping and some mobility work in the hips.

… baby, for you and me now… la la laa

2 thoughts on “the only way is… workout

    • Thanks 🙂 I have to admit I am rubbish at route planning and usually just go fot it till I fall off, then reconsider what to do. I should plan more. I had actually done the route before hand, so knew how it felt. 1st time up I lead it, then second time unclipped, then just top roped the final 18 times. Got a bit dry after 10 ascents, tomorrow I think I will find 2 or three routes on the same line and alternate.

Leave a Reply

