workout kit – part 2

A while back, I did a post on the workout equipment I use for training when I am at work. I consider myself very lucky that I have access to such a large room where I can jump about as much as I like, with only the occasional bemused student coming in and wondering what is going on.

Weekends, however, are totally different. I live in a first floor flat, of the older, more terraced design. The floors are less that solid and I worry what my neighbour downstairs can hear, since I can tell what he watches on telly!

A quick cardio fix is to go for a run by the river (jumping about the flat is a no no), then with just a few pieces at home, it is amazing what you can do.

Here is my home kit:

 

Pullup bars are amazing. This one is a Powerbar and hooks over the door frame, had to make sure it was strong enough first! Often it is covered in drying clothes, so even more useful.

Adding a little something something to the pullup bar are my gym rings. If you want to make easy stuff hard, incorporate these babies!

This is my sandbag. I love this piece of kit. Very versatile and is bags of fun! This is one that I brought at KO sports. I have to restrain myself and not go on their website as I start shopping, they have amazing stuff!

 Does not come with sand! I could not find sand in my area and in my impatient to use it I brought a sack of kitty litter. Very cheap. I know this looks dodgy, but each bundle consists of 2 x 1kg of kitty litter, jaffa taped up in a bag, put into another bag in case of a puncture. Yes, I do mean Jaffa. Awesome stuff.

Saying all this, you really truly don’t need any equipment at all. For me, bodyweight can be more than enough of a challenge!

Happy training!

3 thoughts on “workout kit – part 2

  1. I’m jealous of those gym rings. I’ve been thinking about getting some for a while.

    I love your kitty litter “sand bag”! Lol. It’s smart.

    Lastly, that Jaffa tape sounds cool. I’d never heard of it, so I went to your Amazon link. “Probably the Best Tape Ever” 🙂

Leave a Reply

