two-lefts-don’t-make-a-right workout

Today I am thinking, balance.

Not balance, staying upright on stuff (although this is super helpful for say, rail balance, landings, getting out of bed – who hasn’t staggered a bit first thing in the morning), or balance in lifestyle,  but balance between the left and right sides of our bodies.

We all have a favoured side, one which is usually stronger. This is also usually the side we use to brush our teeth with, carry cups of coffee, apply war paint, eat our soup, and unlock doors with. For me it is also the side I prefer to use when clinging for dear life to climbing holds when clipping, or to carry heavy bags of shopping.

All this side favoritism might contribute towards unbalanced us’. It may contribute to a loss in performance in the sport of your choice, a lack of confidence when relying on that other side, or just make you that little bit weaker or less coordinated overall. I say may or might, as these are just ideas and things I have been thinking about and considering, mostly in reflection on my own performance and tendencies.

Over the next few days I am going to try to regain some over all balance, to use that less favoured, neglected side for those little things and just be a little mindful of the entire body for a while. May even be fun(ny, if you are watching).

In line with my musings, today’s workout will focus on each side of the body separately, focusing on what is going on each side. Go for HIIT! 3 rounds of the following 6 exercises, 10 seconds rest, 50 seconds play:

  • Left leg backwards lunge with shoulder press and front kick
  • Right leg backwards lunge with shoulder press and front kick
  • Left side medicine ball woodchops
  • Right side medicine ball woodchops
  • Left side plank hip raises
  • Right side plank hip raises

Cool down with some skipping, running, or dancing to bring the body back together again.

4 thoughts on “two-lefts-don’t-make-a-right workout

  1. Sounds good! I hear you with the balance issue. I thought my body was balanced until I tried single-legged Romanian Deadlifts (Stiff-legged deadlifts). My left leg was dramatically weaker. I think it’s a weak glute medius.

    Anyway, the reason I care is that any time I have lower-back pain, it’s always on my left side. I can’t help but wonder if that’s because my left lower-back had to compensate for my weak left hip.

    Great post! 🙂

    • Thank you, good to hear I am not the only one! Yes, I always notice it is harder on my left side than my right for single leg deadlifts also… not to mention other exercises. I imagine that could contribute towards low back pain, so hard to diagnose. I hope you don’t suffer from it too often!

Leave a Reply

