marathon?

Now, it has been a while since I have done any serious running. In all honesty, I think I have only run 5-6 times in the last 6 months. It wasn’t always like that. I used to run maybe 2 or 3 times a week. On the weekend I went for a short 8km run and boy did I feel it! I only have myself to blame, it’s not like I am out everyday clocking up the miles, but it is stunning how much of my running fitness I have lost.

What I need right now is to mix things up a bit. Throw some chili into the pot of life and spice things up. I need to get off my butt, and rev up my motor. I need… a marathon!

I have completed 2 marathons, the first one was the 3 Forts marathon (I think 2006, memory is not what it once was). This was not easy, what with the cheeky extra mile tagged on the end and about 3450 feet of ascent. Not a flat one. Took me 5hrs 30ish mins. Felt a long time, was a long time!

The last one was Dublin 2008, with a time of 4hrs 25ish mins. No record there, but was an amazing weekend and a fantastic event.  Not gonna lie, I didn’t really train seriously for it. In fact I was lucky to scrape through with that time and no injuries.

So, I think there is another marathon in this old girl yet. This time I think I should have an aim. I don’t know, maybe sub 4hrs or something. That means I will have to sort out my training, which I am sure will be good for me! I am aiming for one in October, 5 months seems reasonable. The one I have in mind is the Beachy Head Marathon, but I am open to suggestions!

Anyone…?

 

Leave a Reply

