toxic

Anyone else seen this presentation by Dr Robert Lustig? Makes for some scary viewing. In summary, Dr Lustig puts forward the case that sucrose (half glucose half fructose)/fructose is toxic and a poison. Toxic, in fact, in a similar way alcohol is. We are all aware of the health issues related to alcohol (although, I still enjoy a tipple or two – Note: I am no poster girl for public health) but can fructose be really as bad? This talk is specifically targeting fructose as it is processed in a different way to glucose. Glucose (found in bread, potatoes, and rice after it is broken down by the body) can be metabolised by every cell in your body providing fuel, however, fructose can only be metabolised by the liver causing all sorts of issues.

If you haven’t seen it, I recommend checking it out.

He is very convincing. My apple keeps staring at me in a sinister way. Apparently whole fruit is OK as it is packaged in fiber, phew, thank goodness for that. Smile sweetly little apple.

The New York Times Magazine online published an interesting article in response to Dr Lustig’s presentation by Gary Taubes and can be found here. This article manages to go one step further and poses the question, ‘What are the chances that sugar is even worse than Lustig says it is?”.

My own view? Well, the evidence is compelling. I have been aware of the work done by John Yudkin as far back as the 1970’s published in ‘Pure White and Deadly’ for some time now and it is hard to ignore all these sources of information.

Personally as a general rule, I try to eat as little processed food as possible and cook the majority of my meals from scratch at home using fresh and whole ingredients. Also, since experimenting with the paleo diet I have found it very hard to go back to my usual eating habits. Why? Because I actually feel better when I don’t eat bread, pasta, and sugar. Just this weekend I had a little binge on sugary and bready products that left me feeling horrible, not to mention what it does inside!

So, something to think about before chowing down on that bun (I do still have a weak spot for a good old fashioned bun, hence the binge)!

The plan: 18 minutes of HIIT to get the body moving and limbered up! Three rounds of the following 6 exercises performing each exercise for 50 seconds then 10 seconds to catch your breath before the next one!

  • Burpees
  • Medicine ball jump lunges with twist
  • Russian twists
  • Weighted hip thrusters
  • Medicine ball wood chops (to the left)
  • Medicine ball wood chops (to the right)

Golden rule #2: be sweet, but not sugary!

 

4 thoughts on “toxic

    • i found it really interesting, although there is a whole section on bio-chemistry right in the middle that if i said i understood would be a big fat lie šŸ™‚

      • I agree with you in regards to being mindful of what you eat and where it came from. I’m a simple guy, if when reading the ingredients for a product … And I cannot pronounce or describe the item? Chance are I’m not going to buy or eat it. One great example: Broccoli and Cauliflower.

      • quite right! totally agree with you šŸ™‚ keep it simple. Broccoli? what is this new fanggled thing? is it a new GM product? and cauliflower? doesn’t sound like anything i would put in a vase!

Leave a Reply

